I clearly suck at saving the world.

Or at least I suck at blogging. (So far, anyway.)

I planned to recap the big Climate Conference in Paris earlier this month for everybody…but I still l haven’t had a chance to figure out what happened there myself. Christmas was upon me like a runaway train, as was my Biodiversity class at Columbia, a full-time freelance job, performing in two different shows (I’ll get back to that in a bit), making travel plans to see family, a broken pipe in my apartment (which involved pulling out an entire kitchen wall a few days before my AirBnB guests arrived), and, of course, entertaining. So I got a little behind.

FullSizeRender

At the Cabaret Showdown All-Star Holiday Concert

I didn’t even get around to posting the Christmas song I retooled and performed in a little concert on the 13th. I took the tune to “White Christmas” and wrote new, environmental lyrics, renaming it “Green Christmas.”

I’m dreaming…of a Green Christmas
With CO2 under control.
With solar panels glowing
And wind turbines blowing
So we don’t have to frack no mo’…

Unfortunately, the only video I have from the show is my struggling with an onstage costume-change snafu, which turned into an apparently side-splitting 3-minute comedy bit. (I’ve posted it here.)

I’m dreaming…of a Green Christmas
Just like the ones I hope we see.
With a Democrat chosen,
And glaciers still frozen
So my real estate…
stays above the sea. (I live right by the Hudson River, so, ya know, forget about it…)

IMG_7087The job I was working was right off Times Square, so I had to plow through those crowds twice a day on my way to and from the subway. But there’s always something on the route of life that makes me happy, like this guy and his gum-removing machine – talk about your waste management.

And when I was trying to find out more info on the Times Square Alliance (that’s what it says on his snappy red ensemble), I learned that Times Square New Year’s Eve (that’s an entity, apparently) chose an Official Charitable Partner for New Year’s Eve 2016: Global Citizen. They’re an online platform for educating the public on how to make life on the planet more sustainable. On Christmas day, they posted a piece about human waste being used to light up homes around the world – for reals!!

toilet_in_india.jpg__700x468_q85_crop_subsampling-2_upscaleI’m dreaming…of a Green Christmas
With every plastic bag I decline (no, really, I don’t need a bag, I only have one item…)
When those stupid things cost extra,

And Santa drives a Tesla
And the Koch brothers are somehow undermined.

Anyhoo, peeps, I gotta run–I’m still in California seeing family and friends. I head back to NYC tomorrow. Where I plan to FOCUS. For reals.

In fact, here’s one of my New Year’s resolutions: Say NO to things that don’t serve my goal to have a positive impact, before I kick it.

I’m dreaming of a Green Christmas
Re-gifted gifts under the tree.
May your skies and oceans be cleeeeeannnn…
And may all our Christmases be green.

xo,
Deb

One thought on “I clearly suck at saving the world.

  1. Pingback: My homage to Fashion Week | waste management: the blog

Leave a Reply

